This is the "Internet Resources" page of the "Internet Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Internet Resources   Tags: internet, research, sources, websites  

This guide provides a list of resources from the internet that might prove useful in your research.
Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mnu.edu/content.php?pid=306209 Print Guide RSS Updates
Internet Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About

These sites have been reviewed.  They can been used as a good starting place in your research.  For more scholarly information, please visit the library database guide. 

 

Resources

Archives

Docstar - (Internet Explorer Only) This site provides newspaper articles from the university archives. It will eventually contain other items such as college catalogs, yearbooks, and documents relating to the history of MidAmerica Nazarene University.

General

Worldcat FirstSearch - lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals. You can also search Worldcat through Polaris by changing the database to search from Mabee Library to Worldcat.

Kansas Databases - This is a series of databases covering such subjects as business, history, literature and nursing. There is also a collection of 12,000 eBooks that is searchable. These databases are provided by the State Library of Kansas and Kan-Ed. A PIN is required to access these databases. A PIN may be obtained from the Reference Desk at Mabee Library.

Kansas Library Catalog - This is the integrated online catalog for the state of Kansas Library System. Students and faculty may view the materials that are available at participating public and private libraries in the state and not owned by the Mabee Library. These materials are available for interlibrary loan (ILL). Please allow 10 business days for delivery.

Royalty Free Music - Ask a librarian for the username and password to access this site. This site includes a database of downloadable music clips for use in presentation that are royalty/copyright free. Attribution of the source of the clip you use is still necessary.

C-SPAN Video Library - The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.

Education

Online Journal of Distance Learning Administration - a peer-reviewed electronic journal offered free each quarter over the Internet.

English

Gale Literary Index - Author and title searches. Includes an index to works published by the author and an index to literary criticism.

Fine Arts

Google Art Project - "The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and 151 acclaimed art partners from across 40 countries."

Humanities

World Digital Library - significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Medical/Nursing

Healthfinder.gov - An encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources.

Medical Matrix - Ranked, peer-reviewed, annotated clinical medical resources.

National Library of Medicine - The world's largest medical library.

National Network of Libraries of Medicine - Basic medical library management: databases and internet sites.

OmniMedicanSearch.com

PubMed - U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

RX List - The Internet drug index.

Religion/Theology/Missions

Church of the Nazarene History on the Web - Links to Church of the Nazarene history.

Church of the Nazarene Manuals - This is a collaborative project between MidAmerica Nazarene University, Marge Smith Archives, the Office of the General Secretary of the Church of the Nazarene, and the Nazarene Archives. The content of the Manual of the Church of the Nazarene is under copyright by Nazarene Publishing House and is published on this website under permission of the General Secretary of the Church of the Nazarene.

These electronic copies were created from work files used for the editing of the Manual of the Church of the Nazarene. The Manuals and other resources represented here are to be used for research only. The printed version of the Manual of the Church of the Nazarene is the final content authority.

Bible Reference Tools Tutorial - examples from Yale of tutorials for using English concordances, and Greek and Hebrew lexicons.

Bible Reference and Study Tools - DeeperStudy.com has been set up to be a self-supporting, independent ministry that encourages a deeper study of the Bible, not as an end in itself, but as a means to a much greater end: to know God—Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

International Bulletin of Missionary Research - Sign up for a free online subscription.

Dead Sea Scrolls- created by the Israel Museum; allows users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history

Christian Classics Ethereal Library- a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books. 

Science

Biodiversity Heritage Library - contains digital versions of important works of biodiversity literature. These digital versions consist of digital files such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR) texts and image files. The Biodiversity Heritage Library, a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries, as a consortium does not hold any copyrights on these files. If the original works from which the digital versions were produced are in the public domain, so too are the digital files. As the Memorandum of Understanding signed by the Institutions composing the BHL states, “All information currently in the public domain remains in the public domain. Neither the BHL nor the data providers will seek to assert any IPR over public domain materials.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lauren Hays
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
(913) 971-3561
ldhays@mnu.edu
Send Email
 

Disclaimer

The information provided on this Mabee Library web site is obtained from a number of sources.

While every reasonable effort is made to keep this web site accurate and up-to-date, the Mabee Library cannot guarantee the accuracy of all of the information, especially information provided by external sources.

The Mabee Library accepts no liability for inaccurate, out-of-date, or misleading information.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip